The Joseph and Evelyn Lowery Institute for Justice and Human Rights Board of Directors

The Board of Directors provide leadership and guidance for the Joseph and Evelyn Lowery Institute for Justice and Human Rights. This team of diverse folk are active in organizational planning, decision making, and the innovation of the Institute. Our board members bring diverse perspectives, professional acumen, and life experiences that reflect the many communities supported by the Lowery Institute.

Interested in becoming a member of the board? Please contact our CEO, Cheryl Lowery via email!

Current Members of the Board

Dr. Joseph E. Lowery, Chairman, Trustee Board
Bishop Woodie W. White, Chairman, Mission Board
Mr.  Aaron Turpeau, Vice Chair
Ms. Gwenne Campbell, Secretary/Treasurer
Ms. Cheryl Lowery, President/CEO
Rev. Olu Brown  
Mrs. Cristale  Brown-Patterson               
Mr. Imara Canady
Mrs. Candice Franklin                
Mrs. Joya Gregoire               
Hon. Terrinee Gundy  
Dr. Ronald A. Johnson
Atty. Andre Johnson  


Ms. Yvonne Kennedy              
Ms. Karen Lowery
Mr. Kent Malock 
Rev. J. Allen  Milner   
Hon. Thelma Moore   
Ms. Alisha Morgan
Rev. Anthony A. W   Motley  
Rev. Kevin Murriel  
Ms. Gail Nutt      
Mrs. Vicki Palmer  
Dr. David Satcher 
Mr. Scott Satterwhite          
Rep. Calvin Smyre